A material part is supported, but the published wording goes beyond the record.
Holcim said in October 2022 that none of the Syrian conduct involved Holcim, that former Lafarge executives concealed it, and that Holcim investigated proactively and voluntarily.
None of the conduct involved Holcim, which has never operated in Syria
- About
- Lafarge SA
- Claim made by
- Holcim, company statement
- Published
- 18 October 2022
- Evidence score
- 81 How it was scored
- Last reviewed
- 25 October 2026
Why this label
The DOJ release supports the core of the statement. It says Lafarge executives did not disclose the payments to the acquirer, and the payments ended in 2014, before the July 2015 closingS1. But the same release says the acquirer conducted no due diligence on the Syrian operations before or after the dealS1. It says Lafarge, its Syrian unit and the acquirer did not self-report the conduct or fully cooperateS1. Holcim's account of a proactive and voluntary investigationS2 leaves out that finding. The no-involvement and concealment parts are supported. The framing of Holcim's own conduct goes beyond the record.
Current procedural position
Statement issued with the US resolution of 18 October 2022S2. No court ruled on Holcim's conduct.
Record supporting the assessment
Lafarge executives did not disclose LCS’s payments to ISIS and ANF to the Successor Company
former Lafarge SA and LCS executives involved in the conduct concealed it from Holcim
Conflicting or limiting record
conducted neither pre- nor post-acquisition due diligence of LCS’s operations in Syria
Lafarge, LCS and the Successor Company also did not self-report the conduct or fully cooperate in the investigation.
Evidence score: 81 of 100
The score grades how well the record establishes this assessment. It is not a score of Lafarge SA. Score = source authority + directness + corroboration + procedural accuracy + currency + reproducibility.
| Component | Points | Max | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|
| Source authorityIs the source competent to establish the proposition? | 27 | 30 | The DOJ release is the official account against which the statement is checked. |
| DirectnessDoes the source state the proposition or only discuss adjacent facts? | 17 | 20 | The release speaks directly to disclosure, due diligence and cooperation, but calls Holcim the Successor Company. |
| CorroborationDo independent records support the same material point? | 9 | 15 | The 2026 AFP report repeats Holcim's no-knowledge position, but no second official record was read. |
| Procedural accuracyDoes the record settle the procedural state the claim describes? | 10 | 15 | Facts come from a concluded plea, but no ruling addresses Holcim directly. |
| CurrencyHas the record been checked against later developments? | 9 | 10 | Checked against April 2026 reports. |
| ReproducibilityCan a reader locate the passage and repeat the assessment? | 9 | 10 | Both pages are public. The Holcim page shows no date. |
| Total | 81 | 100 |
Timeline
Related cases
- United States v. Lafarge S.A. and Lafarge Cement Syria S.A.US District Court for the Eastern District of New York (Judge William F. Kuntz II). Criminal. Not published in the release read.Stage: Pleas entered and sentence imposed. Concluded.
- Guilty pleas, probation and US$777.78 million in fines and forfeitureS1
Responses
- Holcim, 18 October 2022: Holcim said it had separated from former executives involved and had never operated in Syria.S2
Revision history
- Assessment first published with label Partly supported.
Have a record that changes this assessment? See corrections and responses.
Sources
- S1Tier A Lafarge Pleads Guilty to Conspiring to Provide Material Support to Foreign Terrorist OrganizationsUS Department of Justice. Regulator press release. 18 October 2022.Supports the pleas, the penalties, the payments and the findings on disclosure and cooperation. It does not name Holcim.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
- S2Tier B Holcim Affirms Support for Lafarge SA ResolutionHolcim. Company statement. 18 October 2022 (page undated, date taken from the linked documents).Holcim's position on the US resolution. It does not mention the French proceedings.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
Other claims about Lafarge SA
- Supported93Lafarge SA and Lafarge Cement Syria pleaded guilty in October 2022 in the United States to conspiring to provide material support to ISIS and al-Nusrah Front.Regulator statement, 18 October 20223 records citedSanctions
- Supported73A Paris court convicted Lafarge of financing terrorist organisations on 13 April 2026 and fined it more than EUR 1 million.Press report, 13 April 20263 records citedSanctions
- Partly supported67An April 2026 Al Jazeera report said Lafarge had seen a conviction on crimes against humanity charges confirmed by a French court.Press report, 13 April 20264 records citedCorporate status