The claim described an earlier position that has since changed.
At the March 2009 plea a prosecutor said that given the nature and length of the scheme, victims might recover only a small fraction of their losses.
victims may recover only a small fraction of their losses
- Claim made by
- US Attorney's Office, Southern District of New York, regulator statement
- Published
- 12 March 2009
- Original
- Bernard L. Madoff Pleads Guilty to 11-Count Criminal Information and Is Remanded Into Custody
- Evidence score
- 88 How it was scored
- Last reviewed
- 25 October 2026
Why this label
At the 2009 plea a prosecutor said victims might recover only a small fraction of their lossesS2. That forecast no longer describes the position. The Justice Department reported on 30 December 2024 that its Madoff Victim Fund had paid over US$4.3 billion to 40,930 victims and that they would recover 93.71% of their fraud lossesS3. Separately the court-appointed SIPA Trustee reached 72.015% of each customer's allowed claim after a seventeenth distributionS6. The two recovery streams measure different things and reach different cohorts. Investors who withdrew more than they put in are not compensated. The early forecast was reasonable in 2009 and later recoveries changed the outcome, so the label is Outdated.
Current procedural position
2009 forecast by a prosecutorS2. MVF tenth and final distribution completed December 2024 at 93.71% of lossesS3. SIPA Trustee seventeenth distribution at 72.015% of allowed claims, liquidation continuing as of October 2026S6S7.
Record supporting the assessment
over 40,000 victims in the Madoff scheme will have recovered 93.71% of their fraud losses
equal 72.015% percent of each customer's allowed claim amount, unless that claim has been fully satisfied
Conflicting or limiting record
because of the nature and length of the scheme, victims may recover only a small fraction of their losses
Evidence score: 88 of 100
The score grades how well the record establishes this assessment. It is not a score of Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities LLC. Score = source authority + directness + corroboration + procedural accuracy + currency + reproducibility.
| Component | Points | Max | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|
| Source authorityIs the source competent to establish the proposition? | 26 | 30 | The DOJ release is tier A. The SIPC distribution figure is a tier B statement. |
| DirectnessDoes the source state the proposition or only discuss adjacent facts? | 18 | 20 | Both later records state recovery percentages that answer the forecast. |
| CorroborationDo independent records support the same material point? | 13 | 15 | The MVF total and the Trustee distribution are independent recovery tracks. |
| Procedural accuracyDoes the record settle the procedural state the claim describes? | 12 | 15 | MVF is final, the SIPA liquidation continues. |
| CurrencyHas the record been checked against later developments? | 10 | 10 | Checked against the December 2025 distribution and the October 2026 Trustee page. |
| ReproducibilityCan a reader locate the passage and repeat the assessment? | 9 | 10 | The DOJ and SIPC releases are public. |
| Total | 88 | 100 |
Timeline
Related cases
- United States v. Bernard L. MadoffUS District Court for the Southern District of New York. Criminal. No. 09 Cr. 213 (DC).Stage: Final. Guilty plea and sentence entered, no appeal, defendant deceased.
- Securities Investor Protection Corporation v. Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities LLCUS Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York. Insolvency. Adv. Pro. No. 08-01789 (SMB).Stage: SIPA liquidation open. Interim distributions continuing.
- Seventeenth distribution brings the total to 72.015% of allowed claimsS6
Revision history
- Assessment first published with label Outdated.
Have a record that changes this assessment? See corrections and responses.
Sources
- S3Tier A Justice Department's 10th Distribution Brings Total Provided to Over $4.3B in Nearly Full Recovery to Over 40,000 Victims in Madoff Ponzi SchemeUS Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs. Government press release. 30 December 2024.Supports the MVF total of over US$4.3 billion and the 93.71% recovery of fraud losses for MVF victims. This is a separate track from the SIPA Trustee.
- S6Tier B Madoff Trustee Requests Allocation of More Than $123 Million to Customer Fund and Court Approval to Distribute More Than $87 Million to BLMIS Customers with Allowed ClaimsSecurities Investor Protection Corporation (SIPC). Company statement. 11 December 2025.Supports the seventeenth distribution reaching 72.015% of each allowed claim. Reports a Trustee recovery of about US$14.833 billion as of 31 October 2025.
- S2Tier A Bernard L. Madoff Pleads Guilty to 11-Count Criminal Information and Is Remanded Into CustodyUS Attorney's Office, Southern District of New York (via FBI New York). Government press release. 12 March 2009.Supports the guilty plea to eleven felony counts and the prosecutor forecast on recovery. Does not state the scheme's duration.
- S1Tier A Bernard Madoff Sentenced to 150 Years in PrisonUS Attorney's Office, Southern District of New York (via FBI New York). Government press release. 29 June 2009.Supports the 150-year sentence and the US$170,799,000,000 forfeiture. Does not give a final net loss figure.
- S7Tier B Recoveries, Distributions and SIPC CommitmentOffice of the SIPA Trustee for BLMIS (Irving H. Picard, BakerHostetler). Company statement. 23 October 2026.Supports the Trustee recovery of about US$15.509 billion as of 23 October 2026. Does not state total allowed claims or an overall recovery percentage.
Other claims about Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities LLC
- Supported96Prosecutors said Bernard Madoff pleaded guilty to an eleven-count criminal information in March 2009 and was sentenced in June 2009 to 150 years in prison with forfeiture of US$170,799,000,000.Regulator statement, 29 June 20093 records citedFraud
- Supported82The SEC Office of Inspector General found that the agency received credible complaints about Madoff but never performed a thorough investigation and could have uncovered the scheme before he confessed.Official report, August 20093 records citedMarket conduct
- Supported77The SIPA Trustee reported recoveries of about US$15.509 billion for BLMIS customers and that distributions reached 72.015% of each allowed claim.Company statement, 11 December 20252 records citedCorporate status