RecordLens

Claim review. Money laundering

Supported

The cited record supports the material proposition.

Sweden's financial regulator found in March 2020 that Swedbank had major deficiencies in its anti-money laundering work in the Baltics and fined it SEK 4 billion.

About
Swedbank AB (publ)
Claim made by
Finansinspektionen, regulator statement
Published
19 March 2020
Original
Swedbank receives a warning and an administrative fine of SEK 4 billion
Evidence score
92 How it was scored
Last reviewed
25 October 2026

Why this label

The regulator's release states the warning, the SEK 4 billion fine and the finding of major deficiencies in the Baltic operationsS1. It says the Swedish operations did not meet the rules eitherS1. The investigation was run with the supervisors of Estonia, Latvia and LithuaniaS1. The release describes control failures. It does not state that money laundering was proven, and the full decision was not read. The commissioned Clifford Chance report points the same way on high-risk flowsS2. The claim matches the regulator's own words.

Current procedural position

Warning and administrative fine issued by Finansinspektionen on 19 March 2020S1. No appeal was found in this review.

Record supporting the assessment

Swedbank has demonstrated major deficiencies in its work to combat money laundering in its Baltic operations.
S1 Tier A Finansinspektionen, Swedbank receives a warning and an administrative fine of SEK 4 billion, 19 March 2020
FI's investigation was conducted in cooperation with the supervisory authorities in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
S1 Tier A Finansinspektionen, Swedbank receives a warning and an administrative fine of SEK 4 billion, 19 March 2020
The bank's Swedish operations have not lived up to the requirements in the anti-money laundering regulations.
S1 Tier A Finansinspektionen, Swedbank receives a warning and an administrative fine of SEK 4 billion, 19 March 2020

Conflicting or limiting record

No record located that conflicts with this assessment.

Evidence score: 92 of 100

The score grades how well the record establishes this assessment. It is not a score of Swedbank AB (publ). Score = source authority + directness + corroboration + procedural accuracy + currency + reproducibility.

ComponentPointsMaxReason
Source authorityIs the source competent to establish the proposition?2930The national supervisor issued the sanction.
DirectnessDoes the source state the proposition or only discuss adjacent facts?1920The release states the finding and the fine.
CorroborationDo independent records support the same material point?1215The commissioned report describes the same high-risk flows.
Procedural accuracyDoes the record settle the procedural state the claim describes?1315A regulator decision. No appeal was found, but none was checked in court records.
CurrencyHas the record been checked against later developments?910Checked against later US and Swedish developments to 2026.
ReproducibilityCan a reader locate the passage and repeat the assessment?1010The release is public on fi.se.
Total92100

Timeline

  1. Finansinspektionen issues a warning and a SEK 4 billion fineS1

Related cases

  • Finansinspektionen and Swedbank ABFinansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority). Regulatory. Not published in the release read.Stage: Sanction issued on 19 March 2020.
    • Warning and SEK 4 billion administrative fineS1

Revision history

  • Assessment first published with label Supported.

Have a record that changes this assessment? See corrections and responses.

Sources

  1. S1Tier A Swedbank receives a warning and an administrative fine of SEK 4 billionFinansinspektionen. Regulator press release. 19 March 2020.Supports the fine and the finding of major Baltic deficiencies. It does not state that money laundering was proven.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
  2. S2Tier B Swedbank comments on Clifford Chance reportSwedbank AB. Commissioned report. 23 March 2020.Company summary of the report it commissioned, hosted by a law firm. It is not an official finding.Link working, checked 25 October 2026

Other claims about Swedbank AB (publ)