A material part is supported, but the published wording goes beyond the record.
VEON said in September 2023 that it had not been targeted by US, EU or UK sanctions at any point since February 2022.
has not been targeted by US, EU, or UK sanctions at any point
- About
- VEON Ltd.
- Claim made by
- VEON Ltd., company statement
- Published
- 5 September 2023
- Evidence score
- 66 How it was scored
- Last reviewed
- 25 October 2026
Why this label
No record read for this review shows a designation of VEON Ltd. by the US, EU or UK. OFAC's General License 54 of 18 November 2022 authorises transactions in VEON debt and equity issued before 6 June 2022S5. A licence of that kind fits a company that is not itself listed. The same licence shows that purchases of VEON securities fell within the prohibition in Executive Order 14071 on new investment in Russia until OFAC authorised themS5. VEON's November 2022 release said the licence removed that concernS3. The statement is supported as to designation. It goes beyond the record if read to mean that no US sanctions measure ever reached VEON. No sanctions register was searched directly.
Current procedural position
Company statement. OFAC General License 54 issued on 18 November 2022S5. No designation of VEON Ltd. found in records read as of October 2026.
Record supporting the assessment
VEON Group has not been targeted by US, EU, or UK sanctions at any point since the onset of the conflict in February 2022.
incident and necessary to the purchase or receipt of any debt or equity securities of VEON Ltd.
Conflicting or limiting record
that are prohibited by section 1(a)(i) of Executive Order (E.O.) 14071 are authorized
can be traded freely without concern regarding U.S. sanctions targeting new investment in Russia.
Evidence score: 66 of 100
The score grades how well the record establishes this assessment. It is not a score of VEON Ltd.. Score = source authority + directness + corroboration + procedural accuracy + currency + reproducibility.
| Component | Points | Max | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|
| Source authorityIs the source competent to establish the proposition? | 22 | 30 | The OFAC licence is an official record, but no sanctions register was checked. |
| DirectnessDoes the source state the proposition or only discuss adjacent facts? | 12 | 20 | The licence bears on the point but does not state VEON's listing status. |
| CorroborationDo independent records support the same material point? | 8 | 15 | Only the company and OFAC records were read. |
| Procedural accuracyDoes the record settle the procedural state the claim describes? | 9 | 15 | Sanctions status can change and was not confirmed against a register. |
| CurrencyHas the record been checked against later developments? | 6 | 10 | No record after 2023 was read on this point. |
| ReproducibilityCan a reader locate the passage and repeat the assessment? | 9 | 10 | The licence and releases are public. |
| Total | 66 | 100 |
Timeline
Responses
- VEON Ltd., 5 September 2023: VEON said brokers had declined some buy orders and that it was not a sanctioned entity.S4
Revision history
- Assessment first published with label Partly supported.
Have a record that changes this assessment? See corrections and responses.
Sources
- S4Tier B CEO Letter to Investors: VEON confirms unhindered trading, offers support to investorsVEON Ltd.. Company statement. 5 September 2023.Company statement that it has not been targeted by sanctions. It is not an official sanctions record.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
- S5Tier A General License No. 54, Authorizing Certain Transactions Involving VEON Ltd.US Department of the Treasury, Office of Foreign Assets Control. Regulator order. 18 November 2022.Authorises dealings in VEON securities issued before 6 June 2022 that E.O. 14071 would otherwise bar. It does not designate VEON.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
- S3Tier B Green light from US Treasury for VEON Ltd. Equity tradingVEON Ltd.. Company statement. 18 November 2022.Company account of OFAC General License 54. It does not state VEON's listing status.Link working, checked 25 October 2026
Other claims about VEON Ltd.
- Supported93The US Department of Justice said on 18 February 2016 that VimpelCom and Unitel would pay more than US$795 million in US and Dutch penalties over bribes paid in Uzbekistan.Regulator statement, 18 February 20164 records citedBribery
- Outdated77DOJ said in February 2016 that VimpelCom must retain a compliance monitor for three years.Regulator statement, 18 February 20163 records citedCorporate status